I Challenged Myself to Complete #12LipsOfChristmas Because I’m Afraid of Lipstick

When it comes to makeup, I’m a very simple girl. My beauty routine in the morning consists of concealer – for those genetic and perpetual under-eye bags (thanks, Dad) – a little bit of bronzing powder to give my pale Winter skin some life, and a swipe of mascara. On my way out the door, the only thought I give to my lips – my always-dry lips – is that I should hit them with some chapstick. Never lipstick.

 

I had a conversation about my “fear” of lipstick – the bold colors, awkward smudging, getting weird looks from the general public because my teeth are red – with our beauty editors, and I could see the glimmer of excitement in their eyes almost immediately. At their first chance, they presented me with a lipstick challenge to attempt to make me a convert, and the rest is history.

 

Toward the middle of December, the hashtag #12LipsOfChristmas began popping up all over social media, and it was then that my challenge was born: wear 12 different “holiday” (I put that in quotes because clearly I have a lot to learn – how is dark purple Christmassy?!) shades in 12 days and report back on my general findings.

Leave a Reply

